I’ve been using WordPress for years, but once a year or so I get it into my head that I should switch to Blogger.  I never actually have, though I’ve made Serious Claims and I do have an account there.  I think what appeals to me about Blogger is that it feels simpler and more hands-on than WordPress, which can feel overly complicated sometimes.  Also, Blogger makes it easy to import pictures from Picasa, which is what I use to upload pictures anyway, so it takes a step out of linking to photos.

So who is Blogger for?  Blogger’s changed their behind-the-scenes interface since last time I claimed I was going to switch to it, but it’s still very easy to use.  It’s easily customizable with a drag-and-drop layout system.  It automatically tracks your stats with Google Analytics (since it’s owned by Google), and you can view them without having to go to another site.  Blogger also makes it easy to incorporate Google’s AdSense to earn revenue from the blog.  You can also access the other blogs you’re reading, just like Google Reader.  It’s a great platform for users who want easy access to useful, customizable features without needing technical knowledge.

Pros:

  • Easy customization, including drag-and-drop layouts
  • Behind-the-scenes interface is more user-friendly
  • Google services like Picasa, Google Reader, and Google Analytics already integrated into the site
  • It’s easy to connect with other Blogger users

Cons:

  • Even sites with their own domain names still show the Blogger bar at the top of the page
  • Not as customizable as WordPress
  • You can’t import an existing WordPress blog into Blogger

Blogger sounds pretty amazing, actually, and I can see why I keep being drawn back to it.  So why do I stick with WordPress?  For one thing, I don’t want to lose all the comments and posts I’ve built up over years of blogging.  And even if WordPress can be frustrating at times (when it refuses to install new features or themes properly), it’s also extremely customizable.  Its interface isn’t as intuitive as Blogger’s, but the more I learn about how to make use of WordPress’s features, the less intimidating it is and the more I like it.

Pros:

  • More customizable than Blogger
  • You can import an existing Blogger site into WordPress
  • You can use your own domain name without a bar at the top of the page

Cons:

  • WordPress can be extremely frustrating when not working properly
  • Less intuitive interface
  • No built-in social networking

An average person looking to start more of a blog than a website, who wants convenient tools and integration with Google and who doesn’t want to deal with any technical issues, might be better off going with Blogger, at least to start with.  Someone looking for a more professional website who isn’t afraid of a little technical difficulties–or who can hire someone else to deal with it–would be better off starting with WordPress.

